WIP — Shinobi jumper

You know, I really don’t know why this one’s been languishing in my WIP pile for so long, because it’s so very beautiful. Clever, satisfying pattern paired with a gorgeous luxe yarn which is in my platonic ideal colour. It’s all knit in the round so there’s barely any finishing – it starts with a bit of to-ing and fro-ing to shape the back of the neck and then you join in the round and just keep going. Live stitches are left for the arms which are picked up and knitted down to the cuffs (the pattern is for three-quarter length sleeves, which I may or may not stick to). That lovely twisted rib makes for a crisp, tailored look and the main stitch pattern is easy to memorise and produces a nice dense squishy mesh material. I’m actually almost finished with the body – I think I’ve stalled because I can’t decide whether or not to make the bottom ribbing a little longer (yes, I’m that far along).

Here’s what it’s meant to look like, when finished:

img_0105
© Yoko Johnston

The Manos yarn is a merino/silk blend – it’s butter soft and a pleasure to knit with. I really need to get this one wrapped up because it’s wasted by being on the inside of my knitting basket. Plus it’s autumn* and this lace jumper in a cosy warm yarn is the perfect transitional piece. Time to pull my finger out.

Pattern: Shinobi, by Yoko Johnston
Yarn: Manos del Uruguay Silk Blend DK, in Orinoco
More details: Ravelry project page

* Shh, don’t tell anyone, but where I’m typing this from right now it’s not autumn at all. Or at least, it’s not autumnal. I don’t think much knitting will get done, but I’ll be tackling those WIPs when I get home, promise. For now, though…

img_3090

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Alina says:

    The last photo looks like a pure bliss!!! This sweater is going to be amazing! Merino/silk blend is such a luxury for hands!! Enjoy!

    Like

    1. felinity says:

      Hopefully mine will come close to the original – looking good so far!

      Like

  2. oooh, your sweater is looking so good so far! And that pattern is gorgeous, I don’t think I’ve seen it before. Hope you are having an amazing getaway!

    Like

    1. felinity says:

      I highly recommend the pattern, it’s well written and a lot of fun.

      And yes we’re having an ace holiday – sadly back to reality tomorrow, boo.

      Like

  3. That sweater is going to look so amazing in the blue you’re using! Plus that yarn is going to make it a dream to wear 🙂

    Like

    1. felinity says:

      Ooh I really hope you’re right. Going to alternate this with my other WIP and hopefully be done well before Christmas.

      Like

      1. felinity says:

        (Almost certainly famous last words..!)

        Like

Leave a Reply

