Finished project – Ombre Textured Cowl

I finished this on the first of Jan and have only JUST blocked it. (The blocking coinciding with this season’s autumnal temperatures is probably not accidental.)

Untitled

I picked up a happy little ‘Party of Five’ Tough Love Sock gradient kit (by SweetGeorgia Yarns) at the 2015 Pom Pom Quarterly Christmas party (it was a very obliging night for sparking new projects, for me). If you stick around this blog for any length of time you’ll start to notice a recurring colour theme of shades of blue, aqua and turquoise – so this kit couldn’t have been designed better for ticking all of my ‘want it’ boxes. I’d show you a picture of the cute little skeins, except that my lovely knitting buddies helped me wind up all five at the party that night so that I could cast-on for something asap. Love them!

So, I had five skeins of approx 105 yards each, and I wanted an easy-to-knit Christmas project where I didn’t have to worry about concentrating on a pattern while chatting to people (and, perhaps, while enjoying a festive tipple from time to time…).

Untitled
Oh look!

It didn’t take me long to decide that the beauty of whatever I knitted was going to be in the colours and the ombre effect, so I decided on an easy-peasy minimal-thought cowl with bands of different stitches for interest and texture. I effectively pinched the stitch patterns from this textured shawl recipe, and just did a little bit of playing around with gauge (and making sure the textured stitch bits only ever followed on from a row of the right colour stocking stitch).

Untitled

I wanted a long cowl which I’d wear doubled-up most of the time. It lets me wear it comfortably around my neck, or I can scrunch it up for something cosy when it’s extra cold, or I can pretend to be a bandit if I want to (I generally don’t).

Untitled
But I can if I want to

I did make one mistake upfront, which I worked out about halfway through (but was too lazy to rip back and reknit), which is that I started and finished with bands of garter stitch. Garter stitch is wider than the other stitch patterns I used, and because it’s the same number of stitches all the way through, the top and bottom have a tendency to flip. Luckily for me, the joy of a cowl is that it ALL flips about and twists here and there so it really doesn’t matter. The important thing is the colours, which are always visible.

Untitled

Quick shout-out to my latest blocking gadgets, which are these KnitPro multi-pin blocking combs. I got a pack from my LYS the other day (who don’t sell online, or I’d link to them instead) and thought I’d give them a go the other night. I love them! They make blocking SO EASY. Pinning out the cowl (I’ve also used a couple of wires at either end) took about three minutes.

Untitled

I feel a bit of a fraud calling this a ‘pattern’, but for the record here’s what I did.

Ombre Textured Cowl

Needles: 3.5mm circular

Textured stitch pattern (two-row pattern repeat):
row 1: slip one st purlwise, K1, YO, pass slipped st over both the knitted stitch and the YO
row 2: knit

Instructions:

  1. Starting with darkest colour, cast-on 270 stitches loosely (I used a 5mm needle to cast-on and then switched to the 3.5 mm needles)
  2. Join to work in the round, then work rows as follows:
    • 6 rows garter stitch (knit a row then purl a row)
    • 6 rows stocking stitch (knit every row)
    • 10 rows textured stitch
  3. Switch to second skein in the gradient and work rows as follows:
    • 7 rows stocking stitch
    • 9 rows garter stitch
    • 6 rows stocking stitch
  4. Move to third skein in the gradient and work rows as follows:
    • 8 rows textured stitch (start on a knit row)
    • 7 rows stocking stitch
    • 8 rows textured stitch
  5. Switch to fourth skein in the gradient and work rows as follows:
    • 6 rows stocking stitch
    • 9 rows garter stitch
    • 7 rows stocking stitch
  6. Switch to fifth skein in the gradient (lightest colour) and work rows as follows:
    • 10 rows textured stitch (start on a knit row)
    • 6 rows stocking stitch
    • 6 rows garter stitch
    • cast-off all stitches loosely (I used the 5mm needle again)
  7. Block, wear, love

As mentioned above, you might want to swap around the opening/closing garter stitch for a different stitch so you don’t risk the top/bottom flip effect (not that I mind).

Untitled

Pattern: As above! Inspiration from Orlane’s Textured Shawl Recipe
Yarn: ‘Party of Five’ Tough Love Sock gradient kit by SweetGeorgia Yarns (80% superwash merino, 20% nylon)
More details: Ravelry project page

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Alina says:

    Oh this looks so so lovely! The gradient effect makes it even more special, thank you so much for sharing your notes!

    Like

    1. felinity says:

      You’re very welcome, and thank you for the lovely comment! I love this yarn and the resulting cowl so very much – super simple but really effective.

      Like

Leave a Reply

