My afternoon, a still life

And in no way a hastily taken photo to make the most of a rare patch of sun illuminating the pile of knitting detritus next to me.

Top of the knitting pile (and bottom of the photo): a swatch of the lace pattern from Sabbatical, in Lithuanian lace linen. The pattern suggests sportweight, which is not very near to the heavy laceweight of the linen, but I love the pattern and after much fruitless searching I’ve failed to find the right lace cardigan for my linen yarn. Last night in bed I couldn’t stop wondering if the linen might work in the pattern and, well, it just might. I’m still deciding. Oh, but there’s more! That swatch was washed in the washing machine and dried in the tumble drier. And it is just fine! Much softened (though still robust) and weighs almost nothing. This could either make the perfect cover-up floaty cardigan, or could be a whole pile of swearing, sore fingers and a waste of time. I’ll keep you posted.

Middle of the pile: a swatch of fisherman’s rib in Rowan cashsoft. I was thinking that maybe I could turn some of the big pile of cashsoft that I have in my stash into a cosy squishy fisherman’s rib scarf which would make for easy TV/train knitting. And it does indeed make a gorgeously lofty, almost weightless, and (probably) very warm fabric. It is hella boring to knit though. It’s like running in a bath of treacle. I am still weighing it up, and considering the Voyager stole instead.

Bottom of the pile – a washed and blocked Alonzo sock. The Easyknits Deeply Wicked blocks really nicely indeed, I’m very pleased. (Sock 2, for info, is halfway along the leg.)

Beneath the knitting: my project notebook. Just visible are some notes for my Driftwood hoody (which, argh, I’d planned to finish for EYF and totally failed to do thanks to the distractions of socks and new projects).

Bottom right, blurred (and only visible on some devices depending on the browser size): a DPN holder, a Travelknitter notions tin, the edge of the Alonzo pattern and the very edge of a needle gauge.

And that pretty much sums up my afternoon.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Meg Jones says:

    Matt is always astounded at how much /stuff/ accumulates next to me when I’m knitting or crocheting. I can’t blame him – it can be quite impressive. πŸ˜‰

    That voyager stole looks lovely and that’s definitely a lace pattern that could be done on the commute. No one needs a project that feels like wading through treacle!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, the *stuff* volumes are amazing. This is why it’s very important to have many, many project bags and storage options πŸ™‚

      Definitely considering the voyager stole! Might swatch for that too soon.

      Like

  2. tinaor says:

    Sunshine streaming in just highlights a lovely pile of creation! One question – do you find knitting with linen a bit tough on the hands? I do, just wondered what people do if that happens.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That swatch was my very time knitting with linen! It is quite tough – was fine for the hour or so it took to do the swatch, but I imagine it might be a bit wearing for a big project. I will report back if I decide to go ahead.

      Like

Leave a Reply

