An ode to Edinburgh

Edinburgh is brilliant, and so is its yarn festival. I’ve had the perfect weekend, largely focused around friends, food and drink. And yarn. Honestly no downside.

My trip seemed to get off to an inauspicious start, with my train being two and a half hours delayed. As it turned out, I was surrounded by friendly funny people on the delayed train and the shared experience of the delay overcame even the stiffest British reserve. We found out where everyone was going, people asked what I was knitting (“Is it.. a very slim and delicate sleeve?” – I was making substantial progress on the second Alonzo sock at the time), and we were kept well-stocked with sandwiches and cake. I also had a back catalogue of Parks and Recreation to work through so I was very well catered for in the entertainment stakes. (And I get my ticket refunded, which may or may not be reflected in my purchases from EYF.)

Once I actually made it to Scotland, my weekend was stellar.

Untitled
My Air BnB had a suspended bed (a major reason for me choosing it in the first place).
Untitled
I had breakfasts like this.
Untitled
My friend Kirst and I had a good stomp around the bottom of Arthur’s Seat to help her wee one get to sleep – a grey afternoon but still beautiful.

And then Saturday involved this.

Untitled
Rainbow wall of Knit by Numbers DK from John Arbon Textiles
Untitled
Jamiesons fair isle.
Untitled
Stunning colourwork hoody from Kate Davies (from her recent Inspired by Islay coffee table book – see below).
Untitled
Brooklyn Tweed.

And so, so much more – it was definitely one of the best yarn festivals I’ve been to. SO many vendors, so much beautiful yarn, so very many people. Here’s what I came away with. I was actually fairly restrained on the yarn front, I feel.

Untitled

Inspired by Islay by Kate Davies. I have been watching her release photos of the patterns from this over the last few months and have loved each one, without exception. This was one of my must-buys even before I went, and having seen and stroked her sample knits I was even more convinced. I’ve not yet made any of designs but there are several in my Ravelry queue and this book will definitely make that happen. Also the photos are extraordinarily beautiful.

The Shetland Trader (book two) by Gudrun Johnston. My friend Kate and I both bought this book from Ysolda’s stall, when our friend Nuala (who was working on said stall) recommended it after Kate mentioned looking for jumper patterns with yokes. The patterns are just gorgeous, and we both held onto our copies very tightly when Nuala mentioned they were the last ones in stock (clever lady). Kate is sold on Burrafirth and I am eying up Nikka Vord.

Blend No. 1 Belyse kit and pattern. Also from Ysolda’s stall, obviously, and the other pre-planned purchase on my list. I’ve wanted to make these mitts since she first shared photos of them. Blend no. 1 is also being discontinued after the current stock sells so I wanted to get in while I still could.

Carradal shawl pattern from Lucy Hague. I saw her sample pinned up and honed right in on it – I love the unusual curly cables on a garter background. She was also very understanding when I accidentally knocked her mannequin over with my bag (sorry…).

Two skeins of Coopknits Socks Yeah! in Chryso (I was going to leave without buying anything from her stall and then the yarn sang to me on my way out, I was powerless).

A skein of Easyknits Deeply Wicked in Amethyst (after discovering how beautifully soft this becomes after blocking the first Alonzo sock I am sold on making another pair in the same yarn – this time in a deep mulberry pink).

And lastly two skeins of Alpaca Delight from John Arbon, in Natural Grey and Rich Turquoise. These are probably destined to be the Carradal shawl, and then perhaps a matching hat.

So, all in all, a pretty perfect weekend. Did you go to EYF this weekend? Who did you see and what did you buy?

Untitled
Coming home.

PS: Apparently this is my 100th post! *brings out cake*

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Edinburgh has always been on my travel bucket list but after seeing your photos I must go for EYF too:) Thanks for sharing. It sounds like a wonderful time.
    Congratulations on 100 posts:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh definitely, if you’re going to make a special trip then combining it with EYF is well worth it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Theleens says:

    I have never seen Edinburgh in this late before. An absolute cornucopia of woolen delights 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was! Lovely lovely yarny Edinburgh.

      Like

      1. Theleens says:

        I love the hoodie. Might need to get a chum to make that :).

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Such gorgeous photos, and I loved your accommodation! Ah, one day I’d love to attend the Edinburgh Yarn Festival!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you get the chance one day – the city is so worth a visit anyway, and extra yarny goodness makes it even more brilliant.

      Like

  4. Drool….Thanks so much for sharing your trip and all the yarny goodness!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kaydeerouge says:

    My first time at EYF too this year! I was so gobsmacked by it all that I took no photos, so have very much enjoyed seeing ones like yours. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh, I’m so glad you had a blast too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

