Once upon a sock in April – all types of needles

Two months into joining the once upon a sock-a-long and I am already late – sorry sorry! I’ve had a bit of a nasty migraine and have been trying to keep away from the screen, but I feel too guilty to leave it much longer. As a result  some of the pics on this are a little ropey as my eyesight’s still not quite normal and I’m trying not to spend too long at the computer still (I do miss my screentime, terribly). Deffo check out my fellow sock-posters, who all managed to successfully post on the first Thursday of the month, unlike me: Paula at Spin a Yarn, Stefanie at Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons, and Katherine at Fibre and Sustenance.

Anyway, you’re here to see my sock progress. The awful shame is, well, have a look:

Untitled

I am so ridiculously close to finishing! At the top is the Alonzo sock that I nearly finished during my Edinburgh trip. Beneath it is the sock that I finished last month but then unpicked last weekend because I wanted a couple more rows (pro tip: if there is any, any chance you’re going to unpick something, don‘t be all super-enthusiastic about weaving in your ends – unpicking this little wretch took me a good hour of careful concentration). So all I need to do is kitchener both and I’m done, and you’ll have a proper finished project sock post next weekend, I promise.

In the meantime, here’s a quick illustration of why I bother to block my socks:

Untitled

On the top – unblocked, ludicrously tiny tube of knitting, surely that’ll never get over your ankle? Below – smooth, blocked, perfect twisted-rib sock heaven. I always block handknit socks – after all that work, I reckon I want them to look as beautiful as they deserve.

In other news – I have been sewing! Actual sewing! I did my learn to sew course (with Tilly and the Buttons) a couple of weeks ago and completely fell in love.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

End result from the course was a pair of PJ bottoms, which I don’t have a modelled pic of because, well, I’ve been wearing them as my actual PJs and I didn’t ever feel like taking a photo of myself straight out of bed. They’re v. comfy though and very satisfying to go to a course as a total novice and come away with an actual garment (albeit a sliiiightly wonky one). I am now mid-way through making a skirt – we shall see if this sewing lark becomes a full-blown love affair, or a quick spring fling.

Untitled
One day I hope to show you a zoomed-out version of me wearing this…
11 Comments Add yours

  1. I really hope you feel better soon. Migraines are horrible! I have to say Wow! The difference between the blocked and unblocked sock is amazing 🙂 I do the same thing with my socks, even though I haven’t done anything as intricate as your pattern. Those socks are absolutely gorgeous!

    I’ve been talking about getting back into sewing again. It’s been ages since I’ve done more than hem a pair of pants or sew on a button so I’m quite rusty. I do have fabric, thread, a zipper and a pattern all picked out to make my first project bag. Maybe I should get started on it? Your fabric is very pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope that I do take to sewing because I love how quick it is compared to knitting! And the sewing machine was a wedding present so I really must start making more use of it. The skirt is still mostly in pieces right now, though…

      Like

  2. Oh gosh, so sorry you’ve been unwell! I know how awful migraines can be! Your socks are looking beautiful … hope you’re getting some rest and that you’ll be able to enjoy finishign them soon!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh, thank you. I am definitely on the mend, and the socks are DONE, hooray (actually, finished later the same day that I posted). FO post soon, I hope!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s evidence for blocking for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, right? Blocking is basically magic.

      Like

  4. Stefanie says:

    Sorry I’m late; I thought I had read your post. I’m so jealous about your sewing. What a great job you did. Love the blue of your sock. BTW, can you pls PM me on Ravelry your email addy. I want to show the group something I created and thought we could use as a post header. Just in case, I’m Kepanie on there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

