Once upon a sock in July – slightly stalled

Happy socking Thursday to you, online knit pals. It is not quite as hot as it was the last time I wrote about woolly socks but it’s pretty warm so I’m not going to dwell on the insulating properties of my current projects.

Once Upon a Sock post header 2 jpeg

First up, a confession – I have finished neither of the projects I’d hoped to get done in June. Sad face. I am an idiot – Driftwood is literally only missing one side of the band that frames the hood and one evening of hard work would do it.

The Twisted Soul sock, well.

Untitled

Here it is. It is a clever, fiddly, interesting pattern. Why yes that is an ‘instep flap’ you can see on the top of the foot. Fun, isn’t it?

The thing is. Well, there’s two things.

  1. I still think it is too tight. I have a bit of a problem with the pattern – the tightest, least stretchy part is around the ankle, which is the least useful place to have no give in the material. If only some of the eyelet lace pattern were introduced at that point it could make all the difference. And then on the foot it relaxes and fits beautifully, just to be confusing.
  2. I… don’t want to knit this again. At least, let me rephrase. I don’t want to knit a second sock which is probably too small. I could try knitting the leg on 2.25mm dpns and then switching to 2mms for the heel/foot (though that’s a bit annoying), but if that did work it would mean then having to reknit the current sock and I really don’t want to knit this three times.

What to do? My current plan is to finish this one sock (albeit not with a lot of urgency, right now), block it, and see how it fits then. If it remains too small I might, for the first time ever, leave it as a single beautiful pointless sock, knowing that I still beat a super-tricksy pattern to create it. But if it fits OK after blocking I’ll knit its partner. So, watch this space.

For more sock blogging fun definitely check out what my fellow sock pals have been up to this month: Paula (Spin a Yarn), Katherine (Fiber and Sustenance) and Stefanie (Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons). If you want to join in with our monthly sock posts then you are totally welcome – just get in touch with any of us and we’ll fill you in on the deets.

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed this post then please use the buttons below to share, like, or leave me a comment – I’d love to hear from you.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. I really, really hope that blocking will help the fit on the sock. It is absolutely stunning and I would love to see you have a matched pair. However, I also hear you about having just the one sock if it doesn’t. That’s what happened with my Hermione’s sock. Mine fits, but I put it down for awhile and the pattern got out of whack. I didn’t realize it until I was taking pictures of the finished sock. It’s still sitting in its bag two years later waiting for me to see if I will knit the second one 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh thank you, me too, but we’ll see. Basically it *does* fit on my foot at the moment but it takes some serious tugging. History tells me that this rarely ends well, but I haven’t totally given up yet!

      Like

  2. Stefanie says:

    That pattern looks so cool. I hope it blocks out well for you. I almost forgot this is the first Thursday of the month. Off to work on my post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, me too! Looking forward to seeing your latest sock update 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Such a beautiful sock, I know it must be frustrating to have fit issues. Do you have sock blockers? I wonder if they would help stretch it out — I’m keeping my fingers crossed as they are such gorgeous and interesting socks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve only got plastic ones like the one shown in the picture, I don’t have any expandable ones. I am hoping that after being soaked for a while the stitches will relax a little bit – keeping everything crossed too!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Doh! Of course there’s a sock blocker in the picture — it’s been a long week, ha!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. tinaor says:

    Gorgeous pattern! Wow, can’t wait to see those finiished, hopefully the sizing will work out and you won’t have to undo and reknit! I have only ever made one pair, toe up – in theory, I guess if you run out of steam on a toe up pair you can stop and turn them into anklets rather than continue up each leg!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, and yes I’m hoping for it too – I really don’t want to have to just have the one too-small sock (though also don’t really want to have to knit it again twice… however we shall see!).

      Like

Leave a Reply

