All the colours. All of them

You GUYS, I had the best time at Pomfest on Friday. Did you go? Did you see pictures? It was such a blast – an array of gorgeous vendors, many of whom were new to me. Piles and piles and even more piles of the prettiest yarn. Nice food and interesting talks from interesting knitters. A recorded-live podcast in the evening followed by cocktails and dancing. All so so good. (Scroll down a bit to see what I scored from the day.)

HOWEVER. Scrolling back through my photos on my phone afterwards reminded me that I have been to several of these kind of shindigs over the past year and more. Remember all the yarn I bought at Edinburgh? And the goodies I picked up at the Yarnporium? Not to mention the yarn I bought at last year’s Fibre East and Unravel (sadly unblogged). Conservatively I probably have enough ‘fancy’ (ie festival-bought) yarn for at least 20 projects kicking about in my stash, not including all sorts of other odds and ends I’m keeping hold of. I love love love beautiful yarn but am just not a quick enough knitter to get through it all. Plus, you know, it all adds up and is pretty spendy.

So here’s the thing. I’m making a quiet little pledge to myself (but out loud and on the blog so I have to keep to it). No new yarn for me for at least six months (except, maybe, the occasional skein of sock yarn because sock yarn doesn’t count). There, I’ve said it. Maybe I’ll extend that to 12 months, if I get through to January and am feeling good about it all, but I don’t want to punish myself. We’ll see.

Now – what is the very best way to celebrate a personal yarn ban? Why, visiting four yarn shops in one day, obvs! I’m doing theGreat London Yarn Crawl again this year. It will be an excellent test of my resolve. But also: the ban doesn’t extend to project bags, gadgets, books or patterns, so there’ll be plenty for me to explore.

For now though I am not feeling sorry for myself because I am practically swimming in beautiful new yarn – look at my heavenly purchases from Friday.

Untitled

From top to bottom we have:

  1. A tube of pick’n’mix Baa Ram Ewe Titus mini-skeins. I chose these 10 with future hats and mitts in mind (alongside my substantial leftovers from Birstwith).
  2. A half-and-half speckled/solid set of sockyarn from Dandelion Yarns. Love this colourway! I’m eying up the There and Back Again pattern (maybe to make a fraternal pair, or maybe a matchy-matchy one).
  3. TWO half-and-half skeins of Julie Asselin Fino in the specially dyed ‘Pom Party’ colourway. There is a story to this yarn. I spotted it early on during my first sweep of the room and, after taking my customary post-sweep pause, decided that yes I definitely had to buy a skein (meeting the super-lovely Allison from Yarn in the City as I did so – who was womanning the A Yarn Story stall). And THEN, later that night at the podcast part of the evening, I volunteered to ‘help’ during one of the party games (30 seconds to teach non-knitters how to wind a skein of yarn, which was about as impossible as you’d imagine). And my v. generous reward was… a second skein of the Pom Party Fino! So – not sure whether this will become two very luxurious pairs of socks, or a shawl, or something else entirely. But I’m very happy.
  4. Four skeins of Rosy Green Wool Cheeky Merino Joy which I bought from Nina Petrina. Nina was very patient with me. I clocked early on that this bouncy, organic, sustainable sportweight merino would be a good fit for the Sabbatical cardigan (which regular readers will know I’ve been thinking about for ages), and it was at a price I could afford – hooray! I couldn’t stop faffing over which colour to pick, though – so much so that Nina and her lovely assistant ending up helping me by holding different colours to my face and advising me on which ones worked with my colouring, AND letting me swap the whole lot later in the day when I realised navy was a mistake and pink would be better. So hooray for them.

 

Untitled
Party games at Pomfest fun
6 Comments Add yours

  1. Meg Jones says:

    I was checking my stash/replacing moth repellants this weekend and yea verily, I have way too much yarn, so I think I will join you in your pledge! I am going to yarndale in September but there are other things than yarn that could be bought!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so happy with all the yarn I have in my stash right now and I want to do it justice – i.e. knit it up! I have, as my knit crew friends would say, an elegant sufficiency of yarn right now πŸ™‚ (plus there’s always sock yarn – hooray for sock yarn)

      Like

      1. Meg Jones says:

        Yes, I need to appreciate it all properly by using it! I think I can’t even get sneaky sock yarn as I have *gulp* an entire bin of sock yarn now. O.O Got plenty of ideas to use it up though!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Just THINK what you could do with all that sock yarn – fingerless mittens, gloves, shawls, baby blankets, toys… and more socks. You can never have too many handknit socks.

        Like

  2. I’ve been on a yarn diet all year; except for my Yarnbox Sock Club. I think I’m going to cancel that too after the August shipment goes out since I’ve already paid for it. I think I have a lifetime supply of yarn to tell the truth. Maybe even more than a lifetime πŸ™‚ And mostly one skeins of the yarn on top of it. I can’t tell if I want to sell some of it and make back my money or keep it and keep staring at it πŸ™‚ You got some gorgeous yarn and I probably wouldn’t have been able to resist either πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have wondered about whether I should try a yarn cleanse and sell off some bits that I don’t want. Except I worry that there really aren’t that many I don’t want! It is a trial πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

